The Cardinals of the Holy Roman Church

Council of Cardinals

The Council of Cardinals was created by Pope Francis on April 13, 2013 and confirmed with a chirography on the following September 28, to assist him in the government of the Universal Church and to study the project of revision of the Apostolic Constitution Pastor Bonus on the Roman Curia.

The members of the Council are Cardinals Giuseppe Bertello, president of the Governorate of Vatican City State; Francisco Javier Errázuriz Ossa, of the Fathers of Schönstatt, archbishop emeritus of Santiago de Chile, Chile; Oswald Gracias, archbishop of Bombay, India; Reinhard Marx, archbishop of München und Freising, Germany, president of the Council for the Economy; Laurent Monsengwo Pasinya, archbishop of Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo; Seán Patrick O'Malley, O.F.M.Cap., archbishop of Boston, United States of America; Pietro Parolin, secretary of State; George Pell, prefect of the Secretariat for the Economy; Óscar Andrés Rodríguez Maradiaga, S.D.B., archbishop of Tegucigalpa, Honduras, coordinator; and Bishop Marcello Semeraro of Albano, Italy, secretary.

The Council is also referred to as the C9.

Top Consistories Catalogs Home Search

©1998-2017 Salvador Miranda.