The Cardinals of the Holy Roman Church

Biographical Dictionary
Pope John Paul II (1978-
Prelates who will be created cardinals in the consistory of October 21, 2003 (IX)

Pope John Paul II announced on September 28, 2003, during the Angelus, the names of the 30 prelates and ecclesiastics that he will elevate to the cardinalate in a consistory to be held on October 21, 2003. The pope also announced that he was creating and reserving in pectore one cardinal. After the consistory, the total number of members of the College of Cardinals will be 194 not counting the one reserved in pectore; and the electors will be 135.

Following is the list of the new cardinals in the order in which they were announced by the pope:

Jean-Louis Tauran, titular archbishop of Telepte, secretary of the Secretariat of State for the Relations with the States.

Renato Raffaele Martino, titular archbishop of Segerme, president of the Pontifical Council Iustitia et Pax.

Francesco Marchisano, titular archbishop of Populonia, archpriest of the Patriarchal Vatican Basilica, vicar general for the State of Vatican City, and president of the Fabric of St. Peter's Basilica.

Julián Herranz Casado, of the personal prelature of the Opus Dei, titular archbishop of Vertara, President of the Pontifical Council for the Interpretation of the Legislative Texts and president of the Disciplinary Commission of the Roman Curia.

Javier Lozano Barragán, archbishop-bishop emeritus of Zacatecas, México, president of the Pontifical Council for the Pastoral of the Health Care Workers.

Stephen Fumio Hamao, archbishop-bishop emeritus of Yokohama, Japan, president of the Pontifical Council for the Pastoral Care of Migrants and Itinerants.

Attilio Nicora, archbishop-bishop emeritus of Verona, president of the Administration of the Patrimony of the Apostolic See.

Angelo Scola, patriarch of Venice, Italy.

Anthony Olubunmi Okogie, archbishop of Lagos, Nigeria.

Bernard Panafieu, archbishop of Marseille, France.

Gabriel Zubeir Wako, archbishop of Khartoum, Sudan.

Carlos Amigo Vallejo, O.F.M., archbishop of Seville, Spain.

Justin Francis Rigali, archbishop of Philadelphia, United States.

Keith Michael Patrick O'Brien, archbishop of St. Andrews and Edinburgh, Scotland.

Eusébio Oscar Scheid, S.C.I., archbishop of São Sebastião do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Ennio Antonelli, archbishop of Florence, Italy.

Tarcisio Bertone, S.D.B., archbishop of Genoa, Italy.

Peter Kodwo Appiah Turkson, archbishop of Cape Coast, Ghana.

Telesphore Placidus Toppo, archbishop of Ranchi, India.

George Pell, archbishop of Sydney, Australia.

Josip Bozanic, archbishop of Zagreb, Croatia.

Jean-Baptiste Pham Minh Mán, archbishop of Thàn-Phô Hô Chi Minh (Hôchiminh Ville), Viêt Nam.

Rodolfo Quezada Toruño, archbishop of Guatemala, Guatemala.

Philippe Xavier Christian Ignace Marie Barbarin, archbishop of Lyon, France.

Péter Erdö, archbishop of Esztergom-Budapest, primate of Hungary.

Marc Ouellet, P.S.S., archbishop of Québec, primate of Canada.

Fr. Georges Marie Martin Cottier, O.P., Switzerland, theologian of the Papal Household, secretary general of the International Theological Commission.

Msgr. Gustaaf Joos, canon of the cathedral chapter of Gent, Belgium.

Fr. Tomás Špidlík, S.J., Czech Republic.

Fr. Stanisław Kazimierz Nagy, S.C.I., Poland.

Announcement Titles and deaconries Top Consistories Catalogs Home Search

©1998-2016 Salvador Miranda.